Greg's Driving School is proud to offer our MVA-certified, 36-hour
Driver's Education course.
Upon completion of this course, you will be eligible
to obtain a provisional
driver's license in Maryland.|
This page provides complete information about the course.
If you have further questions, please feel free to contact us.
We'll be glad to help!
How much does the class cost?
Tuition for the course varies slightly by location, but it is generally
between $340 and $380. This includes the two-week class
plus the 3 driving lessons.
If you need the classroom portion only and will be taking the driving lessons
elsewhere, the tuition for classroom-only is $150.
Be sure to check out the
which are offered at some locations.
Am I required to take Driver's Ed?
Yes – in Maryland, the law requires all first-time drivers to complete an MVA-certified
Driver's Education course in order to obtain a
This rule applies to all Maryland residents, regardless of age.
Do I need a learner's permit to take the Driver's Ed class?
You do not need a learner's permit to start the class – in fact, you can begin the class as early as age 15.
Many students find that taking the class first helps them to pass the MVA
learner's permit test later when they apply for a permit.
(You can apply for a learner's permit at the age of 15 and
The course consists of two parts: a classroom portion,
and an in-car driving portion. Students
may take the classroom portion without a learner's permit,
and then return for the on-the-road training
after they have obtained their permit.
How long is the class?
The classroom portion of the course runs for 2 weeks from Monday through Friday
(a total of 10 class days). Each class day
is 3 hours long plus a 15-minute break.
Parents are encouraged to attend the Parent Orientation which is on the first day of class
for the first
hour and a half.
There are also 3 in-car driving lessons of 2 hours each
(a total of 6 in-car hours).
Students may choose dates & times for the in-car lessons
at any time after the first day of class.
If you do not have a learner's permit when you start the class,
you can schedule the driving lessons
after you obtain your permit.
What are the class locations, dates, and times?
Classes start every Monday at all of our locations.
section will help you find a location
and time that's convenient for you.
How do I register and pay for the class?
You can Register Online
to sign up for the Driver's Education class.
You can either pay online with a credit card to hold your reservation,
or you may bring payment with you
on the first day of class.
Greg's Driving School accepts cash, checks, and credit cards.
What do I need to bring to class?
On the first day of class, you'll need to bring the following items:
- Identification: either a learner's permit, birth certificate, or passport
- Your tuition payment for the course, if you did not pay in advance
- A pen and notebook to take notes
How do I schedule the included in-car lessons?
There are 3 in-car driving lessons of 2 hours each.
To schedule those lessons, sign in to your
Greg's account and click "Schedule Your In-Car Driving Lessons".
If you need help scheduling your lessons, you can also
call our office
to speak with our scheduling staff.
What happens if I miss a day of class, or if I can't attend a day?
No problem! You can arrange to make up the day that you missed during a later class.
Please be advised that students may not miss more than 4 days of class, however.
MVA policy requires that all students attend the first day of class, so
please keep in mind that you cannot miss the first day.
Greg's is here to help!
Simply contact us
for answers to any questions you may have.
We will do our best to assist you with any special questions or needs.
Click here to Register for Class or to get pricing information.